Older & Wiser. But Really Just Older.

At some point, I should go back through all of my blog posts (which I started writing in 2008!) and count how many times I begin a post by talking about how long it had been since I had written, and how I’m sorry for that and I’ll try to do better. My guess is I’ve said something like that a lot. But this post probably deserves it more than others, because it’s now been almost three years since I’ve written anything on here! In fact, the last time I wrote a post, I talked about how Chick-fil-A had changed their barbecue sauce recipe. But don’t worry! They changed back to the original recipe a long time ago! (Thank goodness!)

For a while now, my wife Katie has been encouraging me to write on the blog again. I think that Katie understands that I don’t do a good job verbalizing my thoughts or feelings in conversation, so she figures that the only way to really know what’s going on inside my head is for me to write about it.

It’s not a bad plan on her part.

So I’m back to writing. I will try my best to do so consistently. I can’t say that my writings will have specific focus from post-to-post. Sometimes I’ll probably talk about something going on in my ministry or something that caught my attention from the Bible. Sometimes I may talk about movies or baseball. And of course, I’ll keep you updated on the latest happenings on Chick-fil-A sauces.

I feel like the obligatory thing to do in a post like this is update you on what has changed in my life over the past three years. So here are the highlights:

  • I got married! Katie and I were married in Oregon in November 2016. We got to ring a big bell at the end of the ceremony, and they played the Space Jam theme song at the reception.
  • We also got a dog. Griffey is a miniature Australian shepherd and is about a year-and-a-half old. Dogs were my greatest fear when I was young. In fact, my mom took me to see “The Sandlot” when I was a kid, but I was so terrified when they showed the shadow of the dog against a fence that I cried, and we had to leave. So we saw “Cop and a Half” with Burt Reynolds instead. DSC_0416
  • When I last wrote, I had just started my first full-time ministry as the Associate Minister of my home church: Town & Country Christian Church in Topeka, Kansas. Well…I haven’t been fired yet! I oversee our small group ministry, connect with newcomers, teach, preach, and take care of other little tasks throughout the week.
  • Katie and I bought a house. Our neighbors are a retired couple. I’m pretty sure they think we’re idiots, because we don’t really know how to take care of a house or be responsible citizens. But they are patient and kind with us, and they give Griffey treats. He likes them more than he likes us, I think.

Well, those are the major things. Thanks for reading. If you did read it, anyways. Do people still read blogs? Did they read them when I started this thing over 10 years ago? I don’t know. But in any case, it’s nice to be back. I’ll work on having some more substantial content each week. In the meantime…I’ll have a three-piece chicken strip meal, waffle fries, and a Cherry Coke.

3 thoughts on “Older & Wiser. But Really Just Older.

  1. David Heffren! I was just thinking of you the other day, so when I got an email that you had a new blog post I was happy! It sounds like you are well, and for that I am so glad.

    Also…do you really order chicken strips…?

Leave a comment